My Scrapbooking Journey – Part 1 (Cultivating A Hobby)

I started scrapbooking just over 10 years ago.  I can’t believe it’s been that long. It feels like it’s always been a part of me.

When I was little, I loved arts and crafts.  I was always trying to come up with an idea of something to create.  Shopping for school supplies was one of my favourite events of the year!  Little did I know that this seemingly fleeting interest would turn into an adult passion.

My mom was the reason I jumped into the hobby.  She showed me some pages she created after my nephew was born, and I was intrigued.  I knew I could create something like that and I loved the idea of combining crafts and photos.  So off I went to the local scrapbooking store, and I was immediately hooked!

This was my first layout.  Pretty basic, but now that I look back, it wasn’t that bad!  I worked on it in the cropping area at the store where we had full use of a Sizzix die cutting machine, and endless possibilities of paper and stickers within a 50 foot radius.

IMG_7362

Here’s the pages that followed, you will see that my technique started to evolve over time, but I was always about simplicity.  Not too many embellishments, but also very little journalling with my own handwriting.

IMG_7363 IMG_7364 IMG_7365 IMG_7367 IMG_7366IMG_7368 IMG_7369

I had subscriptions to Simple Scrapbooks and Creating Keepsakes magazines and poured through every edition looking for ideas and the latest supplies.  When I purged my scrapbooking room this past spring, it broke my heart to give away nearly 100 old copies of those magazines, because I wanted the space and hardly looked at them.  But I did keep the special editions, which you can see on my shelf!

IMG_7341

I attended quite a few CKC Buffalo Conventions with my mom and aunt, which were a great opportunity to take classes, learn new techniques, shop and crop!  I have a storage bin on the floor in my room of all the CKC Buffalo projects I need to finish.  Someday I’ll get through all of them!  This is a layout from one of the many classes I took.  I love the colours and structure of the page!  It’s one of the very few I have with a photo of me.  Most of them are about my nephews, sons and family.

IMG_7370

After a few years of scrapbooking, I started to lose motivation for the hobby.  I could only scrapbook so many pictures of my nephews, regardless of how adorable they were/are.  I have stacks and stacks of mini albums about trips hubby and I took before and after we got married.  I needed new subjects to focus on!

Before our first son was born, we moved into a new house and I claimed a small room in the basement for my scrapbooking space.  I painted it a bright teal, it felt energizing and brightened the otherwise dreary space.  I love this space, it makes me happy when I hang out in there.  I really do forget about everything else and just play.

IMG_7340

My ribbon, Colour Shine, and washi tape collections.

IMG_7339

My happy place

IMG_7337

Like many scrapbookers, I’m a bit of a hoarder. I use colour drawers to organize my embellishments, and categorized my tools so they are easy to find. I also have copious amounts of paper. Because you can never have too much paper!!

Before our first son was born in 2011, I forced myself to finish an album I was working on for a Europe trip hubby and I took in 2007.  That was the last project I worked on for two years.

Everyone made maternity leave sound like a glorified holiday.  For those who don’t live in Canada, we get a year home with our child.  I had no idea how little time I would actually have to myself!  And when you’re only sleeping in 2-3 hour increments for many many months, there aren’t exactly many creative juices flowing!

Instead of scrapbooking his first year, I created a number of photo books.  I liked being able to create them quickly, and they looked great!  My poor scrapbooking room turned into a glorified storage space, the door forever closed to hide the clutter.  When I went back to work, I had even less time to myself.  And the time I did have was usually spent unwinding or catching up on household to-do’s.  I thought I would never get back in there…that is, until my second maternity leave when I discovered Project Life.  But that’s another story altogether…stay tuned for part 2!

One thought on “My Scrapbooking Journey – Part 1 (Cultivating A Hobby)

Leave a Reply

