Slow Cooker Beef Stew – Take 2

A few weeks ago we tried Simple Beef Stew from Saving You Dinero.  It turned out very well, but the sauce was very thin and I had to thicken it at the end.  A few readers suggested removing the lid for half an hour before it was ready.  I tried that, but it didn’t work.

So I decided to try the roux again: melt two tablespoons of butter in a pan, then whisk in two tablespoons of flour and cook until it’s a light golden colour.  Then add sauce from the crock pot and heat until bubbling.  It thickened fairly quickly.  As an experiment, I also decided to add some Bisto gravy thickener, which I found when I was cleaning out my pantry on the weekend.  What a difference these steps made!  It immediately looked like gravy.  I brought the pot to a boil and then poured it over the meat and vegetables in the crock pot.

I’m not sure if there’s a way to thicken the sauce DURING the cooking process, but this method isn’t too time intensive (it took less than 10 minutes) and worked like a charm.  Hubby and I like thick, gravy like sauce and this did the trick.  I would love to hear any suggestions for achieving this without the extra steps.  Please share if you have any tips!

I made two other adjustments to this recipe this time around.  I added a packet of Club House Beef Stew seasoning at the beginning.  It added a lot of flavour!  Hubby always adds HP Sauce and he pointed out that this stew had so much flavour, he didn’t need to add anything.  That’s quite the compliment!  The other adjustment was the addition of more vegetables.  I added some extra carrots, a cup of frozen peas and a cup of green beans.  The beans were pretty soggy by the time the stew was ready, but the new vegetables tasted great!

Now to find the ultimate chicken stew recipe…any recommendations? Thanks for reading!

IMG_2619.JPG

IMG_2617.JPG

IMG_2618.JPG

Leave a Reply

