Harvest Home Decor

I love the fall.  I love the cooler days, the vibrant colours of the trees as the leaves change, and the plentiful variety of pumpkins and gourds available for cooking and decorating.  I’ve shared a lot of my fall baking projects, but I thought I’d also share a few snapshots of how we dressed up our home for the season.

I’m most proud of our front porch.  I always admire homes with rich fall outdoor displays and this year I took advantage of the free time I have while on maternity leave (translation: shopping with a 9 month old in tow and decorating while he naps) to dress up our entrance.  I’ve wanted to create this pumpkin tower for quite some time, I saw something similar at Springridge Farm a few years ago.  It’s very simple – three pumpkins stacked on top of each other in a heavy ceramic pot (I learned the hard way and broke a plastic pot) with a rod running through the middle to keep them from toppling over.  It turned out great!

My oldest loves the little pumpkins.  Every time he passes them, he moves them around to his liking.  A future designer perhaps?

IMG_2628.JPG

IMG_2627.JPG

IMG_2629.JPG

With Halloween just under two weeks away, I’ve incorporated some spooky (but toddler friendly) items.  Now we just need to stay out of the Halloween chocolate so there’s some left for the trick or treaters!

IMG_2631.JPG

IMG_2624.JPG

IMG_2625-0.JPG

IMG_2632.JPG

Leave a Reply

