Slow Cooker Beef Stew

Tonight we tried the first of the slow cooker meals I found on Saving You Dinero – Simple Beef Stew. Here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:
2 pounds cubed stew meat (I split a large Costco pack in half, basically eyeballed it)
1/2 white onion chopped (I use chopped frozen onions from M&M Meat Shops – huge timesaver!)
2 garlic cloves, diced (I used minced garlic)
3 cups water
2 beef bouillon cubes
Bag of baby carrots (I chopped some large carrots I had in the fridge)
2-3 large potatoes, cut into large chunks
Salt & Pepper to taste

Add the beef, onion, garlic, water, bouillon, potatoes and carrots to the crock pot. Cook on high for 6-7 hours or low for 7-8 hours.

For freezer bag prep: add everything except the potatoes and carrots to the freezer bag and freeze. Potatoes and carrots go in fresh.

Review: this recipe turned out great. It was very tasty and the meat and veg were super tender. I would add peas and more carrots next time to bulk it up. My only complaint is the sauce is very thin. I scooped out two cups of juice an hour before it was done (I used the low cooking option) and thickened it with a roux (3 tablespoons of butter melted on low, mix in 1/4 cup flour and whisk till smooth, then whisk in juice) and added it back to the pot. Then I turned it up to high for an hour. It was definitely better and more gravy like, but could’ve been thicker. Any suggestions for how I could fix it from the beginning so I can avoid this step at the end?

I will definitely make this again, if I can fix the sauce it will certainly be a keeper. What else do you put in your stews? I’m not a fan of mushrooms or onions, but I know they would probably add even more flavour!

IMG_2514.JPG

Leave a Reply

