13 Freezer Meals In 3 Hours

Before our second baby was born, I fully intended to fill my freezer with crock pot-ready meals.  To our great surprise, he arrived 2.5 weeks early, so it didn’t happen.

As the weather changes and our schedule starts to get busier, I wanted to get ahead of meal planning for the next month.  I love my Hamilton Beach Programmable Slow Cooker and I wanted to go beyond my standby recipes – chili, meatballs, scalloped potatoes, etc. There’s a ton of great websites out there with recipes for bulk crock pot freezer meals.  I came across a blog called Saving You Dinero and I LOVE these recipes!  I decided to try these ones:

  • Garlic Honey Chicken
  • Southwest Chicken
  • Spicy Chicken
  • BBQ Ranch Chicken
  • Creamy Chicken & Broccoli
  • Simple Beef Stew

You can find all the recipes and shopping lists here. I had a lot of ingredients already on hand so I didn’t have to buy much.  Since I was already planning a big mess, I also decided to make batches of chili and spaghetti sauce.  I went to CostCo and bought a large package of chicken breasts, a package of stewing beef, and a large package of ground beef.  I also stumbled upon a cheap pre-seasoned pork roast for pulled pork so I picked that up too!

Now came the assembly!  I bagged all the meat first (I browned, drained and cooled the ground beef before bagging), then cut up vegetables and then added the other required ingredients.  I then wrote the name of the recipe on the bag, any ingredients that aren’t frozen that need to be added (like cream cheese) and the cooking times. I won’t share everything here because it would be way too much in one post, I will share the details in separate posts as we cook the meals.

So after about 3 hours (because I had to do this in phases, I have two kids after all!) and about $100 in ingredients (CostCo meat was about $70 and I bought about $25 in canned goods and then used pantry ingredients for the rest) I have 13 meals ready to go (one of each chicken recipe above, two batches each of stew, spaghetti sauce, pulled pork and chili) into the slow cooker!  I will still need to make sides (rice, noodles, vegetables), but I always have lots of those on hand and can easily whip them up.  I can’t wait to try them all!

IMG_2511.JPG

13 slow cooker-ready freezer meals!

A few things that worked well:

– labelling each bag before I began

– bagging the meat first and keeping a large garbage bag ready to dump all the packaging

– cutting up the vegetables and then dropping into their respective bags

– sorting all the dry/canned ingredients on the counter by recipe so everything was at my fingertips

– cleaning out the freezer first!

11 thoughts on “13 Freezer Meals In 3 Hours

  1. Sarah says:

    Sounds great Sheri! I love the idea to write your label first – that’s such a tough thing to do when all the stuff is squishing around in there.

  2. Ruth mccall says:

    Sheri. Is anyone else gaving a problem opening thus 13 meals site. When I click on “here” a message pops up that the site can’t be found

  3. Thanks so much for sharing my recipes! I really hope you enjoy them. I just have a few pictures to edit and then I will have a new set of 5 recipes – they are all soup recipes and they are so good!

Leave a Reply

