Five Ingredient Slow Cooker Chili

The other night I left a movie to be welcomed by a blast of cold air. It was one of those nights that smell like fall. I love the cooler temperatures, the harvest decorations and making yummy meals with the slow cooker. It was quite cool yesterday while I was making my grocery list and was inspired to pull out the slow cooker to make chili!

I’ve made this recipe a lot and it’s super easy and tastes great! I love that I can put dinner together in the morning and I’m done for the day. You can make this with or without meat, depending on your preference.

Ingredients:

– 2 cans of kidney beans
– 1 can of diced tomatoes
– 1 can of condensed tomato soup
– peppers (whatever kind you like, I used sweet red and yellow)
– ground meat (I used lean ground beef but you can use pork, chicken or omit altogether)

Rinse the kidney beans in a colander then add to the slow cooker. Drain the water off the diced tomatoes and add to the slow cooker. Add the can of condensed soup (no water).

At the same time, brown the ground beef with your favourite spice (I like the Club House Vegetable spice) and drain. Then add to the pot. Then wash and dice the peppers and add to mixture. Stir everything together with a big spoon.

I found a new Club House Maple Bacon spice at the grocery store and decided to add it on top, it smells nice and smokey and should taste great.

Turn the slow cooker on low and leave the chili for about 6 hours.

It may seem like the chili looks “dry” but the diced tomatoes break down and combine with the soup to create the sauce. If it’s too soupy before it cooks, it will be even worse once it’s done. It’s easier to have super thick chili and add a little water later.

I’ll post a pic later once it’s done. Now I can kick back and relax for the rest of the day…or at least dream about it. Let’s be realistic, I have two boys to entertain!IMG_2444-0.JPGIMG_2446-0.JPG

IMG_2445-0.JPG

One thought on “Five Ingredient Slow Cooker Chili

Leave a Reply

