Final cake project

I can’t believe a week has passed since my final cake decorating class. Life with a 4 month old and 3 year old can be pretty chaotic at times!

During our last class we learned how to make the ribbon rose and wilton rose. After all my icing prep the day before, I was so disappointed when my stiff hot pink icing went runny and became unusable. I’m not sure what went wrong, everything else was fine. Grr!

So the teacher let me use her orange icing, which didn’t match with my cake at all, so that’s why you don’t see any roses on it. They are really finicky and I know I will need to practice them a lot to get them right.

So here’s my final cake. I’m not over the moon about it, but considering where I was before I started the course (I never baked a cake, iced a cake or decorated a cake), I’m very pleased. I know I’ll get better with practice. So a warning to nearby family and friends – I may spontaneously show up with goodies because I had an urge to “play”.

I’m most proud of the “ombré” edge. I saw it on a lot of cakes on Pinterest and it was quite easy! I started with a batch of purple icing, scooped some out and added more colouring, and then repeated it so I had three shades. I like the cakes covered in ombré rose swirls, I think I’ll try that next! It’s also much more forgiving and hides icing blemishes underneath.

I’m considering the next course, but I may actually take it on Craftsy because then I can do it on my own time. The summer is busy and it’s hard to coordinate schedules to get away for two hours. The Wilton piped flowers class on Craftsy looks interesting! I’m not sure I want to go down the path of sugar flowers or fondant until I improve at buttercream. I also don’t want to spend the money on a whole new assortment of tools.

This is a fun hobby but it’s not cheap when you’re starting out. That said, I’ve learned a lot of techniques and recipes that should save me a lot on birthday cakes and pot luck contributions in the future!

20140511-154509.jpg

20140511-154518.jpg

20140511-154531.jpg

2 thoughts on “Final cake project

Leave a Reply

