Wilton Cake Decorating Class 2: Decorating My First Cake

I knew cake decorating would be tricky, but I never expected that icing the cake would be the hardest part!

Our prework for the second class was to bake and ice a cake. I baked the cake and refrigerated it overnight (suggested by the teacher) so it would be less likely to tear when icing it. I also knew I would never be able to complete both steps in one afternoon – the challenges of looking after three boys!

I used Wilton Decorator Icing (bought with a Michaels 50% off coupon for my first class – I still had lots left) and added some water to bring it to a thin consistency so it would spread easily. I put the cake upside down on my turntable (the teacher said it was easier to use the bottom as the top to have the flattest surface) and grabbed my angled spatula.

I dumped all the icing in the middle (as instructed) and began to spread it out to the edges and down the sides. It took me about half an hour to complete the “crumb cover”, the first completed picture below. I put it back in the fridge and added a second coat half an hour later once the icing could harden a bit.

Then I was ready for class! I was pretty proud of my cake, and to be honest mine looked the best out of anyone’s (the other two people’s cakes were really messy and the icing was full of crumbs). That made me feel pretty good!

Then the teacher pointed out that my top had a slant and the corners should be flat/straight instead of rounded. So we proceeded to spend the first hour of class fixing our cakes. She showed us a few techniques for cleaning up the edges and evening out the top. In the end it looked pretty good! Definitely not perfect but better for my first attempt!

Then we got to do the fun part – decorating. First we put parchment paper over a black and white cupcake outline, then traced it with piping gel. Then we turned over the tracing on top of the cake so the gel could transfer and leave a pattern, tracing over it lightly with a brush.

Then we filled in the cupcake base using the dimensional technique and the top using assorted swirls. I was pretty proud of mine! I asked the teacher to show me how to do the shell border around the bottom, and then thought I would use the star technique from the first class for around the top.

You can see my finished cake below. I’m very pleased with my first attempt and I know I will only improve with practice.

And as you can see from the very bottom pictures, it tasted as good as it looked!!

Next week we’re onto cupcakes and flowers, I’m excited for that one!

20140418-150836.jpg

20140418-150849.jpg

20140418-150905.jpg

20140418-150914.jpg

20140418-150929.jpg

20140418-150938.jpg

20140418-150950.jpg

4 thoughts on “Wilton Cake Decorating Class 2: Decorating My First Cake

  1. mjoanross says:

    Looks great Sheri! I’m glad you are enjoying this project and of course the family benefits by receiving your treats.

Leave a Reply

