Sugar cookies from scratch – attempt 2 (B+)

My second attempt went much better! This time the butter was very soft so the batter was much more assembled and not crumbly. I tried forming the dough into balls and also tried flattening the balls between my hands and did a test batch to see how they would turn out (see the second photo).

The flattened ones did the trick! I don’t have a rolling pin (yet!) so I used a square container lid and parchment paper to squish down the balls into flat circles. I found they were a bit too small in the third photo below I made them bigger the third time (fourth photo) and they turned out perfectly and smell positively divine!!

Evidently this isn’t a recipe for sugar cookies to decorate, unless you flatten the dough before you bake because they don’t spread out much at all.

I look forward to sharing the decorated cookies after class on Sunday. I better hide them otherwise they might be eaten by then!!

20140403-163914.jpg

20140403-163924.jpg

20140403-163938.jpg

20140403-163947.jpg

20140403-164729.jpg

Leave a Reply

