Sugar cookies from scratch – attempt 1 (D+)

Part of my decorating class prework is to bring 6 sugar cookies to decorate. I decided to try this recipe from allrecipes.com.

I’ve had good luck with this site but one of my big lessons is to read the comments below for tips BEFORE you start. That was my big mistake – I jumped right into the recipe because I was rushing.

DS2 was in the other room lying on his playmat so I thought I could get them mixed and into the oven before he got fussy. So much for that…he lasted 10 mins.

My butter was in the fridge so I cut it into small squares and microwaved it to soften it – rather than waiting and softening it properly. I then mixed the batter and it ended up like the first picture below – chunky and not smooth like the recipe said. Then I read the comments and it turns out the butter wasn’t soft enough. I thought I’d try it out anyway, and rolled the dough into balls and put it in the oven for 8 mins. And while they taste quite good, they by no means baked properly. I also made the balls of dough too big.

So now I have butter softening on the counter for my next attempt in half an hour. Fingers crossed this time they will work!

20140403-145516.jpg

20140403-145526.jpg

20140403-145536.jpg

4 thoughts on “Sugar cookies from scratch – attempt 1 (D+)

  1. Barbara Laidlaw says:

    Hey Sheri! Sounds like an odd recipe. Most sugar cookies are mixed, chilled and then rolled and cut to ensure you have a flat surface for decorating, and because they can be cut in various shapes. Send me an email if you get stuck and I’ll look up my grandmothers recipe for you. It’s never failed me yet, and I am NOT a baker.

Leave a Reply

