The beginning…

I’ve never been much of a cook.  I have a stand mixer that looks lovely on the counter but has only been used twice in the last ten years.  I’ve never had the time (or made the time) to learn new techniques or try new things.  Work keeps me busy and I leave the fancy stuff to the professionals when we eat out.

My maternal grandmother was a great cook and baker.  I remember sitting at her kitchen table as a little girl, helping her mix cookie batter and sneaking a taste when she turned around.  I loved the anticipation of tasting our work of art while taking in the sweet smells from the oven.

Growing up we ate well but we weren’t too adventurous.  I had my first pepper when I started University.  My husband introduced me to lots of new things, including one of my loves – Indian food and butter chicken (which I know is Indian food for lightweights but I love it anyway!).

When we had our first son (I’ll refer to him as DS1) in 2011, my maternity leave was all about survival.  I barely slept so cooking was secondary, which meant a whole lotta takeout.  When we had our second son in December 2013 (I’ll refer to him as DS2), I decided I would take the time on this maternity leave (we get a year in Canada for any international readers) to push myself and cook (almost) every day.

I’ve been pretty successful at trying new recipes in the oven and my slow cooker over the last three months.  I also decided to try my hand at baking – since it’s in my blood.  My first attempts included banana bread, banana muffins and Rice Krispie squares, and they failed.  But I figured out what I did wrong and tried again….and I was successful!  I’ve learned that just because it doesn’t turn out the first time doesn’t mean I can’t cook or bake.  I may have picked a bad recipe or missed a step along the way.

This blog is about my attempts to be a slightly more domestic mama, and embracing the cooking genes buried deep within me.  Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “The beginning…

  1. Good luck Sheri with this new adventure. When my two were your boys age the last thing I was thinking about was becoming more domesticated. I do have to agree that Grandma was a great cook and baker!

Leave a Reply

